Quad Cortex Power Supply and External Pedals

Hi folks!

I’m new to Quad Cortex so my questions might be silly, but gonna ask them anyways :slight_smile:

I just picked up the Quad Cortex a few days back (its currently being shipped down to me) and wanted to add a few external pedals to it namely - Mission Engineering SP1-ND, Strymon Timeline and Strymon Bigsky.

My questions here is on what power supply would best suit for the job and if I require to use only TRS cables for connecting the external pedals to the QC. I checked around and found that the QC takes in 12V and 3 Amps. Not sure if there are any specific power bricks that would support it directly along with providing power supply for the other 2 Strymon pedals (without having to combine multiple 9V/12V outs from the power brick). Anyone here added more pedals to the QC and found a power brick I could use? :slight_smile:

Also, I do realize that the SP-1ND requires a TRS cable, but would that be the case for the other 2 Strymon pedals as well? If yes, which company’s TRS cables would you guys recommend (tried and tested of course :slight_smile: )

Thanks in advance

No silly questions here :slight_smile:

One power supply that works for me and reportedly for others is CIOKS DC7. A little on the pricey side, but great quality and very compact.
You have 2 options here.

1. Use 4 combined 12V outputs (2A) via parallel adapters. Then you have 3 more outputs with 9/12/15/18V to power other pedals.
  2. Purchase an additional CIOKS Crux, connect it to the DC7 to have a Single 12V/2A output and still have all 7 variable outputs of the DC7 left.

I personnaly use option 1. and apart from looking a little strange, it works flawlessly. Option 2 is obviously more expensive but a little more tidy.