QC with UAD Apollo x8

Ok, i have to admit, i’m pretty new to the world of QC - nevertheless i had other gear like Helix LT, Kemper, FM3, etc…

So i plugged my new QC into my Apollo x8 and additional on Out 3/4 to some Yamaha Monitor Speakers - and after adjusting Gain on both units and playing there was a huge difference between the sound that came out of the yamahas and the sound that came out on my HEDD via the UAD apollo x8. The UAD sounded terrible and muffled, nearly nasal :wink:

Then i figured out, that there is a global eq here i can adjust the output settings - sounded much better.
My question if some pros here have an equivalent setup, any suggestions on the EQ settings?

Many thanks and kind regards
Thomas

I’m don’t have a UAD interface but have you tried running the QC as an interface without the Apollo to see if the muffled sound is still there?

Yes i did. When i used the QC as audio interface it sounded - at least for my ears - damn good. When i used the Apollo - mhmmm - not so brilliant, even it’s a great interface.
Only problem with the QC was, i was not able to listen to e.g. YT oder recordings from Logic Pro, Ableton, etc.

Tomorrow i’ll check how to setup the QC as an audio interface to see if i’m able to make it work.

Thanks for your kind help,
best regards
Thomas

Just in case someone is interested :wink:

QC into audio interface sounds very different to QC on the same studio monitors when connected direct.
I’m not sure if the UAD Apollo x8 “colorizes” the incoming audio, but there is definitely a difference.

I would like to know how other users run their QC into their audio interface for recording. Why do i ask that? Well the UAD Interface is my main interface for recording and playback, but as well just for watching some YT videos, etc. and needs not to be shut down…where as i’m not sure if the QC likes to be “always” on.