Can anyone help me with setup and latency?

Hi!

So, I’m fairly new to the whole music through the PC thing and I’m having trouble with latency. I guess I just don’t get the whole thing? I have my guitar going into a Scarlett 2i2, the Scarlet goes to my PC and that’s it. But when I try playing using the stand alone Archtype or using the plugin through Reaper (DAW) I get a horrible lag. When I try to use the metronome feature, I get all jumbled up because of the time difference. Can anybody help me? Thanks.

-Hawk127

Try reducing the buffer size in your Scarlett driver.
You need to find the right buffer size for your setup as it is dependant on your PCs hardware.

The higher your buffer size the more latency you get. If you set your buffer size too low you will get sound artefacts due to the audio buffer running full.

I recommend reading some more about interface setup or watching a tutorial so you better understand the common pitfalls of the setup.

As the Focusrite Scarlett can run in native on windows (without) drivers, you should really use the optional ASIO drivers from Focusrite to reduce latency on PC.

Once you have installed the drivers on your machine, just select the “ASIO” drivers in the standalone Plug-in or Reaper audio settings.

Then you can reduce the “Audio buffer” in the settings to reduce the latency.
The less buffer you have, the less latency you will have, but the more power it requires from the computer.
So it’s a game of “trials and errors” until you find the buffer size that doesn’t make “click and pops” in the sound.

Thanks for the reply.