_. Need “Brownface” (or “Blonde”) era 6L6 Fender amp (“6G” series”)

I’m really sorry for the duplicate posts. This is my first time using the forum and I don’t know how to make my post go to the proper section.

Can someone tell me if there is yet a profile of a “Brownface” (or “Blonde”) era 6L6 Fender amp?

This would be the “6G” series of amps from 1959-1964, just after the tweed era and just before the blackface era.

It could be the Pro, Super, Showman, Vibroverb, Vibrosonic etc, (anything using 6L6) although I would really prefer the solid state rectifier with a “presence” control, which would be either the “Pro” or the “Showman.”

If yes, where can I find it?

Here’s an unofficial list of devices on the QC:

You can search the cloud for captures, just know they won’t have controls like the models do, only rudimentary ones.

Good luck!

1 Like

Thank you, 340dave.

I’m actually looking for something dialed in with single coils rather than humbuckers.

This is for surf guitar a la Dick Dale.

The 6G16 Vibroverb is a nice brownface amp although it does lack a “Presence” control.

In any case, this should be close enough for now.

Thank you.

It’s a great resource, but it’s based on version 1.3. Newest devices are not included.

If you have a brown face model you have dialed from a plug-in or another modeler you can easily capture it. AF has some great brown face amps.

What does “AF” stand for?

Axe FX. If I get to make a capture of mine, I’ll send it along.

If Axe FX has a Brownface Fenders does this mean that the FM9 and FM3 also have Brownface Fenders as well?

Can you do me a favor?

Can you make a short audio recording with this capture here and post a link? Can you try to make it sound like a “surf guitar” (e.g. Dick Dale)?

I don’t currently own a Quad Cortex; just curious if this capture here can be made to sound like “surf guitar.”

#1963 bassman
#6g6-b