iPhone usb audio

Hi, I plugged my iPhone into the QC using USB camera connection kit to try and play a backing track to jam along to. The sound was quiet and warbled no matter what input/output combinations I used. Has anyone had success with iPhone usb audio or is it best to use iPhone headphones audio out into input 2 or return jack in QC?

I couldn’t get my iPads to connect (using the specified usb to lightning/C camera adaptor) so I ended up using a basic 2 channel audio interface (Roland Rubix 24): I connect the QC cable output to its input and use the usb output of the Rubix. That works fine.
An expensive workaround though !

Sadly, the usb 1 & 2 outputs are dry. Wet on 3&4. Only usb 1&2 can be defaulted on apps without audio input selection.

I’m new to the QC, so have a lot to learn, but I just managed to get my iPhone connected to the QC USB input using a simple and cheap (Amazon) USB to Lightning cable (see picture) To be fair I did expect this to work as I can connect my iPhone directly to a Line 6 Catalyst using this cable, and can play music and use the Catalyst Edit app directly.

I can only get it working on the QC if I listen through headphones though; on the I/O Settings pull-down page on the QC it does say this when you tap the ‘i’ (‘information’) button on the ‘IN 3/4’ tab. For ‘IN 1/2’ I can hear the iPhone if I use the XLR outs (‘Playback through Host XLR out’) But I can’t work out how to how to configure it so I can use In 5/6 (it says this is a manual route from the host to grid selectable lane input)

Any ideas?