New qc owner- help me understand volume?

I’m brand new to QC, and to modelers/digital devices in general (I’ve always used pedals into tube amps).

I spent a few hours today playing around, learning sounds, etc. And I constantly found myself confused because I was clearly hearing some sort of digital clipping. My input volume meter didn’t show any clipping- I was well in the green. But I could hear that the sound was being digitally distorted. I started with my input gain at 0.0 db, assuming that would be the “default” value I should look for. Later I moved it down to -8 to -12. Is that normal?

Sometimes even at those low input values I’d find I was getting an untrue sound. This was especially problematic if I put a physical drive pedal or compressor (dude, tumnus, and ego) in the input along with my guitar (though to be clear I still had issues even if it was just my guitar in the input and nothing else). I only had an amp and cab block in my grid, and the settings were relatively low.

So then I wasn’t sure if I needed to change any output settings. I was using headphones (3 sleeping kids) and I turned down the headphone output level, but that didn’t really seem to fix the issue. Turning down the multi out knob seemed to help sometimes (I think) but I was still getting digital distortion even while that meter wasn’t red. My results were inconsistent.

Regardless, all of this has led me to see that I really don’t understand the digital parts of gain staging (or really moreso troubleshooting) on a device like this. I spent more time guessing whether my sounds were interacting properly together than actually crafting sounds. Can you help me understand this topic better? I have read the entire manual and I find it helpful in a lot of areas- but not this one.

I can be related to your pickups. The hotter they are the quicker the lower the input gain should be. Check out this video: